Cookie usage policy

The website of the University Carlos III of Madrid use its own cookies and third-party cookies to improve our services by analyzing their browsing habits. By continuing navigation, we understand that it accepts our cookie policy. "Usage rules"

Profª. Dª. Marta Pilar Macías

Professor Marta Pilar Macias

Marta Macías is Tenured Professor  of  Accounting in the Business Economics Department at Universidad Carlos III She is a Doctor in Economic and Business Sciences from the University of Jaén and graduated in Economic and Business Sciences at the University of Seville.

Her research concerns the analysis of changes to accounting information systems and the results of her work have been published in journals such as Abacus, European Accounting Review, Accounting Historians Journal, International Journal of Accounting and Accounting Business and Financial History.
She is a member of the editorial board of the journals  Issues in Accounting Education and Accounting History,  and is part of the Standing Scientific Committee of the European Accounting Association.

He has a degree in Philosophy and Arts (Geography and History division, Geography section ) from the Universidad Autónoma de Madrid ( National Award for Final Thesis  1994-1995) and he is a Doctor of Philosophy and Arts from the same University, having presented his doctoral thesis  “Las divisiones regionales y el mapa autonómico de España, 1812-1983” in 2000 (Extraordinary Doctorate Prize 1999-2000 and Humanities Research Prize 2000  awarded by the Royal Academy of Doctors.

Since 2005, he  has been Tenured Professor of Human Geography at the Universidad Carlos III de Madrid, which he joined in 2003.  He has been accredited as University Chair Professor by ANECA  in the Arts and Humanities Branch.   He was formerly Associate Professor at the Universidad Autónoma de Madrid (2000-2002)  and, he has taught at several foreign universities, as visiting professor, at the University of Pau and the École des Hautes Études en Sciences Sociales  París, in France, the University of Oulu in Finland, the University of Oporto in Portugal,  and the Universidad Autónoma Metropolitana - Campus de Iztapalapa, in Mexico, the  Universidad Nacional del Comahue, Argentina,  and Fundación Escuela Superior Profesional INPAHU, in Santafé de Bogotá Colombia.