Cookie usage policy

The website of the University Carlos III of Madrid use its own cookies and third-party cookies to improve our services by analyzing their browsing habits. By continuing navigation, we understand that it accepts our cookie policy. "Usage rules"


  • Home
  • News
  • The political scientist Margaret Levi and the programmer Bjarne Stroustrup to be awarded honorary doctorates by UC3M

The political scientist Margaret Levi and the programmer Bjarne Stroustrup to be awarded honorary doctorates by UC3M


The Professor of Political Science at Stanford University, Margaret Levi, and the Professor of Computer Science at Columbia University, Bjarne Stroustrup, are to be awarded honorary doctorates by Universidad Carlos III de Madrid (UC3M) for their outstanding academic and professional achievements.

Margaret Levi y Bjarne Stroustrup, Honoris Causa UC3M 2019

The presentation will be held on University Day, January the 25 th , in a formal ceremony in the Getafe campus’ Aula Magna. During the ceremony, which will be presided over by the chancellor of UC3M, the presentation of the University’s extraordinary doctorate awards and doctorate degrees will also take place.

Professor Ignacio Sánchez-Cuenca from the Department of Social Sciences will pay tribute to Margaret Levi while the tribute to Bjarne Stroustrup will be delivered by Professor José Daniel García Sánchez from UC3M’s Computing Department.

Profiles of the recipients of the honorary doctorates

Margaret Levi (1947) is the Director of the Center for Advanced Study in the Behavioral Sciences (CASBS) at Stanford University (USA), where she is also a Professor of Political Science. She is also Professor Emerita of International Studies at the University of Washington, where she was director of the CHAOS centre (Comparative Historical Analysis of Organisations and States). She is a fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences (2001), of the National Academy of Sciences (NAS) in USA (2015), of the American Academy of Political and Social Science (2015) and of the oldest academic society in the United States, the American Philosophical Society. Among other awards, she has received the William H. Riker Prize for Political Science (2014) from the University of Rochester (USA). She obtained her bachelor's degree from Bryn Mawr College and her PhD from Harvard University. She has been a fellow at the Watson Institute for International Studies at Brown University and has held a Chair in Politics at the University of Sydney (Australia). She is currently a fellow of the Scientific Council of the Carlos III-Juan March Institute of Social Sciences. Levi is the author and co-author of a large number of articles and seven books, including: "Of Rule and Revenue" (1988); "Consent, Dissent, and Patriotism" (1997); "Analytic Narratives" (1998); and "Cooperation Without Trust?" (2005). Some topics she has researched are the conditions under which people come to believe that their governments are legitimate, the consequences of those beliefs for compliance with the rule of law, how to improve the quality of government and how to make it so that the goods we consume are produced in a more sustainable way for both workers and the environment. More information

Bjarne Stroustrup (1950) is the designer of the C++ programming language, the first version of which he created between 1979 and 1983 at the AT&T Bell Labs. He is the author of a large number of academic publications and four books: "The C++ Programming Language" (1985, 1991, 1997, 2000), "The Design and Evolution of C++" (1994), "Programming: Principles and Practice using C++" (2008, 2014), and "A Tour of C++" (2013, 2018). Stroustrup is one of the directors of the technology division of Morgan Stanley in New York and is a Visiting Professor at Columbia University. Among the awards he has received are the Faraday Medal from the Institute of Engineering and Technology (2017), the Charles Stark Draper Prize (2018) and the Computer Pioneer Award from the Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineers (IEEE). His current research focuses on distributed systems, design and programming techniques, software development tools and programming languages. He is involved in the worldwide standardisation of C++ in the International Standardisation Organisation (ISO). He obtained his Master's degree in Mathematics from Aarhus University (Denmark), where he is an honorary professor, and received his PhD in Computer Science from the University of Cambridge (United Kingdom), of which he is an honorary member of Churchill College. More information

More information: UC3M honorary doctorates