Cookie usage policy

The website of the University Carlos III of Madrid use its own cookies and third-party cookies to improve our services by analyzing their browsing habits. By continuing navigation, we understand that it accepts our cookie policy. "Usage rules"


UC3M wins the Econometric Game 2018


The team from Universidad Carlos III de Madrid (UC3M) has won this year’s edition of the Econometric Game, ahead of Harvard University (USA) and Aarhus University (Denmark).

El equipo de la UC3M que ha ganado el Econometric Game 2018

This event, organised by the University of Amsterdam through their Actuarial Sciences, Econometrics and Operations Research student organisation, brought together teams of PhD, master’s or undergraduate students from 30 European and American universities. The winning team, from the Economics Department at UC3M, is made up of Miguel Ángel Cabello, Francisco Pareschi, Yuhao Li and Julius Vainora, master’s students in Economic Analysis and PhD students in Economics.

The teams have two days to analyse and resolve a case study which they then present in a research article format. The 10 teams that progress to the final then have to work on a second case study for one more day and present their findings and the econometric methods they used. The team entered by UC3M has reached the final of every edition except one since 2007, winning the competition on three occasions. “Part of this success is due to the Econometrics education the postgraduate students receive from the UC3M Economics department”, states Miguel A. Delgado, professor at UC3M and the tutor of this year’s team.

The different methods are evaluated by a jury of renowned independent specialists. The theme this year focused on the effects of unemployment, both individual and aggregate, on subjective measures of wellbeing and its channels of communication. They were provided with a cross-section of data for 1984, 1990, 1999 and 2008 from the European Values Studies with 165,000 people and more than 1,300 questions in 20 European countries.

The following universities competed this year: Aarhus University, Aix-Marseille School of Economics, Erasmus Universiteit Rotterdam, Harvard University, Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, KU Leuven, Leibniz Universität Hannover, Lund University, McGill University, Monash University, National Research University Higher School of Economics – Perm, New Economic School, Oxford University, Stellenbosch University, Toulouse School of Economics, Universidad del Rosario, Universiteit Antwerpen, Universiteit van Tilburg, Universidad Carlos III de Madrid, University of Bristol, University of Cambridge, University of Copenhagen, University of Florence, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, University of Orleans, University of St. Gallen, University of Toronto, Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam and Warsaw School of Economics.

Further information: