Cookie usage policy

The website of the University Carlos III of Madrid use its own cookies and third-party cookies to improve our services by analyzing their browsing habits. By continuing navigation, we understand that it accepts our cookie policy. "Usage rules"

Governing Council

Governing Council (art. 38)

The Governing Council is the university’s governing body.


Authority (art. 40)
• Establish strategic university policies and programs along with guidelines and procedures for their application, in the organisation of educational activities, research, human and economic resources and budgetary management.
• Draw up and approve the regulations on internal affairs and approve those of Departments, Faculties, the School, University research institutions and any other University Departments .
• Create, modify or remove departments and departmental sections, and change their titles.
• Choose representatives for the Social Council.
• Approve the list of teaching and research posts and any changes made thereto as proposed by the President.
• Establish the selection, assessment and promotion of teaching and research personnel at the President's proposal
• Set up the selection policy, assessment and promotion of teaching and research staff as proposed by the President.
• Set up criteria for granting authorisations, absences and sabbaticals to university teaching staff.
• Approve the appointment of emeritus professors. 
• Approve the list of administrative and service staff and any changes thereto at the  President’s proposal.

• Approve the list of administrative service personnel and any changes made thereto as proposed by the President.
• Establish a selection, assessment, salary and promotions policy for administration and services staff, as proposed by the President.
• Approve regulations on the disciplinary measures for members of the university community, arising from non-compliance with their obligations and duties.
• Set up an admissions system to university studies, defining the capacity of the various centres and qualifications awarded in accordance with current legislation, in addition to proposing to the Social Council the student attendance regulations, which shall be adjusted to the criteria established in these Statutes.
• Approve the proposal for implementing regulated studies.
• Propose approval or modification of syllabi to be taught by the Faculties and the School.
• Approve the general conditions for certifying official studies and establishing the university’s own studies and qualifications.
• Approve doctorate programmes proposed by University Departments or Institutes.
• Appoint professors and doctors to the Research Committee.
• Approve the policy for collaborating with other Universities, natural persons or public bodies, taking into account the appropriate agreements and contracts entered into on behalf of the university in accordance with the terms of these Statutes.
• Create and dispense with university services at the President’s instigation, establishing the criteria for their assessment, and approve the regulations for their organisation and operation.
• Approve the annual budget for the university and the guidelines for long term financial planning.
• Approve if appropriate, credit transfers between the cash accounts and capital accounts for various transactions.
• Approve the educational, research and financial report for each academic year.
• Grant the title of doctor honoris causa, to persons with the appropriate scientific academic or artistic merit, and approve the award of the university medal as proposed by the President.
• Assist the President and collaborate with the other governing bodies of the university in the performance of their duties and functions.
• Any other function attributed according to the terms of these statutes and any other applicable regulations.


Members of the body (art. 39)
• The President, who shall preside, and the General Counsel and the Head of Administration and Finance.
• 15 members appointed by the President. Two of these members will be students proposed by the Student representation.
• 20 appointed by the Senate from among its members ensuring that the different components thereof are adequately represented.
• The Dean of the Faculty of Law and Social Sciences, the Dean of Humanities, Communication and Documentation Faculty, the Director of the Engineering School.
• 11 members chosen by the Directors of the Departments and University Research Institutes from among their members, pursuant to the following regulations: 10 Department Directors and 1 University Research Unit Director.
• 1 member of the Board of Trustees who is not a member of the university community appointed as set forth in the Law on Social Council of the Community of Madrid.